Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2007-07-16 - 12:37 p.m.

I woke up from a dream. What happened? Hard to remember. Rough week coming. I will be featuring for mike Lucas and working. When booked for the gig, it was said that me being placed with a more physical comedian should balance a show out. Strange thinking but what the hell, let's try it.

Yesterday, unexpectedly, I was beckoned to Mooney's place. He lives on south Congress in a hip, liberal neighborhood where everyone goes to party. Poolside, I mingled with the many "Austinites" at this all-concrete-floored-no-more-the-500sqft-per-space complex. "Lotus" badgered me for $500 to invest in his vicarious living website. (I know him only as the guy who sells lotus') The premise of the sight is that you have a guy go to various events throughout the city with a camera broadcasting wireless and all forms of home or bed ridden nerds get a taste of some else's bright lights, big city living. Every idea he through at me sounded like something I heard before. Not that it won't work. Just stop asking me for $500; we just met.

Strange: I noticed this person sitting with the host Sean. At first she reminded me of a comedian named Andy, but eventually it sunk in that I know this woman. After we locked eyes for a minute, I realized she noticed me too. No idea how I knew her, but it all came back in a rush about an hour later. She was Beth's roommate in my first year of college 98/99. ...small world

Charlie and I bolted from the pool to tool around Travis Heights and catch up on the events of our summers. Chuck, being a teacher, is reaping the benefits of an actual paid summer vacation. God, am I jealous. Always the worker, he filled me in on the impressive list of accomplishments for the first month and laid the outline for the rest of the summer. By the end he will have completed his 4th album in two years and a variety of other creative projects, some of which might require my involvement.

After the run down I told him about my plans for the future, specifically my plans to tour next year, and much rejoicing was heard. Good to have a friend who understand what motivates me to try this in the face of overwhelming odds. From his point of view, you are making something that is yours or you aren't doing anything at all. We are similar in this respect.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!